I just got a text from my grandma saying that a family friend only has a few HOURS to live. Like, WHAT DO YOU MEAN??? A few fucking hours!!! I am devastated right now. I have not seen Reggie since the Spring. It is not fair.

10298405_10204293453350367_2649508014161018535_o
A throwback picture of Reggie.

Reggie, in these last few months, you really fought hard. You did. And all you wanted was to find your place in life. You have the biggest, brightest smile. And I am going to miss it. I am going to miss you and your presence. I’m going to miss the way that your laughter fills up a room–any room. I’m going to miss your energy. Your ability to laugh even when you were hurting. I am going to miss it all–everything about you. I’m sorry this is happening to you. I can’t believe it. You could sing with the best of them.

This hurts so badly. Why God. WHY. Reggie only ever wanted to serve You. He would sing the most beautiful songs with a beautiful BEAUTIFUL voice at church. He would cry out in desperation at Your name. God why. I don’t understand and probably never will. This just SUCKS. I won’t even get to see him in his last moments. And I won’t get to see him because he is in Kansas fighting to see another moment.

But thank you. Thank you for his life. And thank you for allowing me to somehow be in his for the last 9 years. It has truly been an honor and a privilege getting to know such a loving, funny, gifted man such as Reggie Robinson. He is so full of everything that is beautiful. Let me never forget him.

I will NEVER forget when you sang these words at church:

“You thought I was worth saving, so you came and changed my life. You thought I was worth keeping, so you cleaned me up inside. You thought I was to die for, so you sacrificed your life. So I can be free. So I can be whole. So I could tell everyone I know.”

And you did just that. You have fought the good fight. You told everyone about Jesus through song and through they way you have lived. Now you will be free to dance and sing like never before. I miss you already. I love you forever and ever, Reggie.

No matter what happens today or tomorrow, I will remember you.

 

